Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome General
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome General
Subject Topic: Insteon Thermostat Commands Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: October 21 2014 at 11:38 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

All,

While trying to add support for the undocumented commands for the Insteon thermostat, I have encountered some problems in testing. Im finding conflicting sources of information and in testing my own two thermostats, getting information that is totally different from what my sources indicate. In an effort to try and determine the best method to access the actual heat and cool setpoints regardless of mode, I'd like to collect some data.

Anyone who has an Insteon thermostat can participate. The first thing to do is to note your current heat and cool setpoints and the thermostat mode (heat, cool, auto, etc). Then run the following commands (one at a time) in the PowerHome Multi-Editor. Be sure and substitute the "YOUR TSTAT ID" with the actual ID of the thermostat as defined in the Devices tab of Insteon Explorer.

ph_insteonwithretext1("YOUR TSTAT ID",46,0,"00 00 00")
ph_insteonwithretext1("YOUR TSTAT ID",46,0,"00 00 01")
ph_insteonwithretext1("YOUR TSTAT ID",46,0,"00 00 02")
ph_insteonwithretext1("YOUR TSTAT ID",46,0,"00 00 09")

Copy/Paste the output of each of these commands along with your current tstat settings for setpoints and mode and it will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
nick7920
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: March 04 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 193
Posted: October 21 2014 at 18:10 | IP Logged Quote nick7920

Thanks Dave,
Here is mine out put of two thermostat -
( it's murphy's law today actual device status is matching the PH cool/heat set)

-thermostat---------------
Tstat cool st =77
Tstat Heat st =73
Tstat mode = auto

commands result of 00,01,02,09

0001010350484D49000000000000D2
000101034C484D49000000000000D1
000101034C484D49000000000000D0
The formula evaluates to: -4
second try
000101034E484D49000000000000C9

------------thermostat1----------------------
Tstat cool st =79
Tstat Heat st =75
Tstat mode = auto

commands result of 00,01,02,09

000101034B4B4F4B000000000000D2
000101034B4B4F4B000000000000D1
000101034C4B4F4B000000000000D0
000101034C4B4F4B000000000000C9

-----------------------------------
Thanks

Nick
Back to Top View nick7920's Profile Search for other posts by nick7920
 
GadgetGuy
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: June 01 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 942
Posted: October 24 2014 at 09:39 | IP Logged Quote GadgetGuy

Here are the STAT starting conditions...


Here are the DWN STAT 2441V responses...
ph_insteonwithretext1("DWN STAT",46,0,"00 00 00")= -2
ph_insteonwithretext1("DWN STAT",46,0,"00 00 01")= 0C
ph_insteonwithretext1("DWN STAT",46,0,"00 00 02")= -2
ph_insteonwithretext1("DWN STAT",46,0,"00 00 09")= -2

Here are the MID STAT 2441TH responses...
ph_insteonwithretext1("MID STAT",46,0,"00 00 00")=00000100E82CFBBF02006405040000
ph_insteonwithretext1("MID STAT",46,0,"00 00 01")=000001015A1E0D4D4A01000A00F6F7
ph_insteonwithretext1("MID STAT",46,0,"00 00 02")=00000102FF000000FF000000AFA8FF
ph_insteonwithretext1("MID STAT",46,0,"00 00 09")= -2



__________________
Ken B - Live every day like it's your last. Eventually, you'll get it right!
Back to Top View GadgetGuy's Profile Search for other posts by GadgetGuy
 
edtude
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: July 26 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 64
Posted: November 02 2014 at 09:41 | IP Logged Quote edtude

I am feeling kind of in left field here because it does not matter which of my Tstats I poll I get the same error each time:

Invalid Direct SQL Code -131
     SQLSTATE = 37000
[Sybase][ODBC Driver][SQL Anywhere]Syntax error near '(' on line 1

What the hell am I copying and pasting improperly?
Back to Top View edtude's Profile Search for other posts by edtude
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: November 02 2014 at 11:40 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

edtude,

Based upon the error (Direct SQL), Im guessing that your multi-editor is in SQL mode. Press shift-F6 to change to PowerHome formula mode and then the statements should work.

Appreciate you testing.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: November 02 2014 at 12:39 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Ken,

You have confirmed the worst of my fears...not all of the thermostats respond with the same data. Mine and Nicks respond with one set of data and yours (at least 1 of them) responds with a different set of data (which happens to match the documentation that I have). My guess is that yours are newer versions or models. Can everyone that have run the formulas post what kind of thermostats they have? It would also help if you looked up the category and sub-cat columns for the thermostat in the Insteon types table.

Also, Ken, if you could rerun the statements (2 or 3 times if necessary) for the 09 option for your second stat and all of the formulas for the first tstat, I would appreciate it.

Thanks,

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
nick7920
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: March 04 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 193
Posted: November 02 2014 at 18:30 | IP Logged Quote nick7920

Mine both are
2441V - rev - 2.2R

Devcat = 5
Subcat = 3


Nick
Back to Top View nick7920's Profile Search for other posts by nick7920
 
edtude
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: July 26 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 64
Posted: November 03 2014 at 16:09 | IP Logged Quote edtude

You of course were correct Dave. After adjusting here is what I came up with

Therm 1
2442TH
Ver 1.6

Tstat Mode: Heat
Tstat Setpoint: 75

00000100EE2411CD02000A05040000
000001015A1E0B4E4B01000A009476
00000102FF000000FF000000F469FF
-2

Therm 2
2442TH
Ver 1.15

Tstat Mode: Heat
Tstat Setpoint: 75
00000100EF240F9C02000A06040000
00000101634F0D4A4B01000A008AFC
00000102FF000000FF000000A06EFF
-2
Back to Top View edtude's Profile Search for other posts by edtude
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: November 04 2014 at 17:50 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Appreciate all the testing done so far. The bad news is it highlights some stupid decisions concerning the makers of Insteon.

For all those with the older 2441V thermostat, we will be able with a single extended insteon command retrieve all aspects of the current state (temperature, heat setpoint, cool setpoint, humidity, mode, and current A/C status). This means that you'll be able to set a poll interval on just 1 of the possible analog insteon ID's and they will all be refreshed.

For those with the newer 2441TH thermostat, you'll be able to retrieve the actual heat and cool setpoint but will still need to use all the other standard length Insteon commands for all the other parameters. You also WONT be able to get the current A/C status (off, heating, cooling).

Not sure why a step backwards was taken but its very irritating and makes the programming and support ugly.

If anyone is aware of a way to query the actual status of what the A/C is currently doing, I would love to hear about it.

In any event, I'll have these new options available shortly.

Also, if anyone else wants to run the tests, I can still use the data. Just be sure and include the current tstat settings (temp, mode, heat setpoint, cool setpoint, humidity, and status) along with type of thermostat.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
edtude
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: July 26 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 64
Posted: November 04 2014 at 19:19 | IP Logged Quote edtude

Dave
This is the command I use to get the current operating mode of the Thermostat "ph_insteonwithretext("SECOND FLOOR THERM", 107,2,"")" I have an entire macro built around it with error checking built in. Wish I could take the credit but one of the other guys here on the board wrote it. Pretty effective.
Back to Top View edtude's Profile Search for other posts by edtude
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: November 04 2014 at 21:51 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Ed,

This is pretty much what Ive been using as well and it will return the current tstat mode (off, cool, heat, auto, etc). The command that Im having trouble with is for the current status. For example, the thermostat may be in auto mode but is it currently heating, cooling, or neither (off). This is what Im having problems querying on the newer (like yours) thermostats.

Prior to the new extended command for the older thermostats, our only option was to create links with tstat as a controller and the PLM as a responder for tstat groups 1, 2, and 3. This will allow the tstat to send group broadcasts whenever the status changes and the PH Insteon Tstat status analogio device will be updated accordingly. However, there is no way to query (that Im aware of) the current status in case you've missed the group broadcast or didnt create the groups (other than the new extended command which only works on older tstats).

Definitely appreciate the effort though .

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
edtude
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: July 26 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 64
Posted: November 04 2014 at 22:20 | IP Logged Quote edtude

Ok now I am on the same page with you, probably not but at least in this case I understand what you are looking for. Thanks for explaining.
Back to Top View edtude's Profile Search for other posts by edtude
 
GadgetGuy
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: June 01 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 942
Posted: November 05 2014 at 08:20 | IP Logged Quote GadgetGuy

dhoward wrote:
Ken, if you could rerun the statements (2 or 3 times if necessary) for the 09 option for your second stat and all of the formulas for the first tstat, I would appreciate it.


Dave I have emailed you extensive data (too much to post here in the Forum) including Raw Insteon Logs and the corresponding Event Logs so you had the fullest amount of detail possible.

Hope it helps.


__________________
Ken B - Live every day like it's your last. Eventually, you'll get it right!
Back to Top View GadgetGuy's Profile Search for other posts by GadgetGuy
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum