Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome Programming
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome Programming
Subject Topic: ph_winampctrl useage Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
smarty
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: May 21 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 728
Posted: June 20 2006 at 22:42 | IP Logged Quote smarty

I have a WinAmp playlist called "allfiles.m3u" located in my "c:\program files\winamp\" directory.

When I run the formula ph_winampctrl("playfile", 0, "c:\program files\winamp\allfiles.m3u") it evaluates to zero (seems OK). But, WinAmp doesn't play the playlist.

When I open the same playlist from Winamp, the playlist opens and plays fine. What am I doing wrong?



__________________
Elk - Insteon - BlueIris - DMC1 - PowerHome - XLobby - HA_Bridge w/Dots - Brultech
Back to Top View smarty's Profile Search for other posts by smarty
 
TonyNo
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: December 05 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2889
Posted: June 21 2006 at 07:33 | IP Logged Quote TonyNo

Maybe this...

This function relies upon the data in the [Winamp] section of the pwrhome.ini file.

If you upgraded, you may not have the entry in your ini file.

[WinAmp]
Class=
Path=c:\program files\winamp\winamp.exe
Back to Top View TonyNo's Profile Search for other posts by TonyNo Visit TonyNo's Homepage
 
smarty
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: May 21 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 728
Posted: June 21 2006 at 08:58 | IP Logged Quote smarty

Tony,
That is exactly what I have in my .ini file for the [WinAmp] section.

When I try the above formula, Winamp is already open. It is usually stopped or paused from the radio station that it was previosly streaming.

Should I somehow clear the station from it before I try to run this fomula?

__________________
Elk - Insteon - BlueIris - DMC1 - PowerHome - XLobby - HA_Bridge w/Dots - Brultech
Back to Top View smarty's Profile Search for other posts by smarty
 
theowl
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: February 24 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 59
Posted: June 21 2006 at 11:28 | IP Logged Quote theowl

I had a similar issue when I implimented the WinAmp controls recently. Strangely enough, moving the .m3u file from "c:\program files\winamp\" to "c:\waves\" solved the issue for me.
Back to Top View theowl's Profile Search for other posts by theowl
 
smarty
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: May 21 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 728
Posted: June 21 2006 at 12:08 | IP Logged Quote smarty

Thanks owl, that did it.

I moved the playlist into a different directory and now the formula works PERFECTLY. I guess this is a WinAMp quirk.

Dave,
Maybe the documentation on ph_winampctrl should include a note concerning where the playlists are kept?

__________________
Elk - Insteon - BlueIris - DMC1 - PowerHome - XLobby - HA_Bridge w/Dots - Brultech
Back to Top View smarty's Profile Search for other posts by smarty
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: June 23 2006 at 22:33 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Smarty,

It would appear that Winamp is hanging on path/filenames that contain a space. Im not around a machine where I could test at the moment but I betcha the following code would fix it:

Code:

ph_winampctrl("playfile", 0, '"c:\program files\winamp\allfiles.m3u"')


Oftimes in Windows, if a filename path contains a path, you must enclose that path within double quotes. So you can see from the above what I did was take your string and wrap it with single quotes. This way the filename path will be passed to Winamp including the double quotes.

Let me know if this fixes it or not and I'll make a note stating this for the help file.

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 
theowl
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: February 24 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 59
Posted: June 27 2006 at 20:00 | IP Logged Quote theowl

Tested on one of my playlists and it works!

Thanks Dave
Back to Top View theowl's Profile Search for other posts by theowl
 
dhoward
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: June 29 2001
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4447
Posted: June 27 2006 at 23:35 | IP Logged Quote dhoward

Yep,

Winamp was just having trouble interpreting the spaces without the double quotes to delimit the entire string.

Glad to hear it works,

Dave.
Back to Top View dhoward's Profile Search for other posts by dhoward Visit dhoward's Homepage
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum