Author |
|
GadgetGuy Super User
Joined: June 01 2008 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 942
|
Posted: January 27 2013 at 07:51 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I have several time critical macros that control our home
theater at the start and end of a session. The timing of
light, screen, curtain control as well as the sequencing
of the AV equipment is critical for an overall smooth
experience.
To assure continuous execution, these macros have no WAIT
commands embedded in them that would allow other macros
to break into the execution queue and take over control.
For further continuity assurance at the beginning of
these macros, I turn off all probable occurring Triggers
to prevent them from interrupting.
BUT Timed Events seem to be able to break into execution
(as evidenced by event entries in the Event Log and by
the 2-3 times length of time my Theater macro needs to
run when these breakins occur). Unfortunately I have
several that are complex and take awhile to execute (and
have WAITS sprinkled throughout to allow others to
interrupt). Because these Timed Events run every 10 or
15 minutes, it is highly probably they will interrupt a
Theater Scene process.
Thus the question . . .
Is there any way to prevent Timed Events from
interrupting another executing macro, or must I just set
a Global flag when my Theater macro starts that is tested
in the Boolean field of the Timed Event. But then what?
I don't want to abort the Timed Event occurrence, just
hold it off until the higher priority Theater event is
finished.
This has had me bugged for over a year, and I'm now
trying to figure out a way to not have so many of my
theater sessions stumble.
__________________ Ken B - Live every day like it's your last. Eventually, you'll get it right!
|
Back to Top |
|
|
gg102 Senior Member
Joined: January 29 2013 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 245
|
Posted: January 29 2013 at 09:42 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Just a thought, but have you thought about turning off the timed events?
ph_timedeventsctrl( "off",0 )
|
Back to Top |
|
|
GadgetGuy Super User
Joined: June 01 2008 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 942
|
Posted: January 29 2013 at 15:56 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Awesome! I was not aware of that function. That sure seems to do
what I want.
Dave doesn't think that they should be interrupting my macro's
execution stream like they are, but since I am traveling, and not home
now to dump and export code, I can't send him anything to look at for
now.
But I'll save your suggestion to try. Thanks!
__________________ Ken B - Live every day like it's your last. Eventually, you'll get it right!
|
Back to Top |
|
|
|
|