Author |
|
tbeckman Senior Member
Joined: December 30 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 149
|
Posted: February 18 2008 at 15:54 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I currently have several insteon lights in the house that I have turn off after so many minutes using a wait macro. They are triggered by an action of the switch being turned on. I have two questions:
I notice that if another macro turns on any of these timed lights (like an all lights on) it causes all the timed light macros to trigger at once. Is there for power home to know if the event was triggered at the switch versus from the computer?
Also, my triggers happen if someone turns ON a light switch but not if they fast on or dim on? Is there a way to control these triggers without having to creat a three triggers for each light in the house? I tried the any trigger, but that with my first question problem led to lights turning on and off all the time by themselves.
Thank you.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: February 18 2008 at 17:51 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Quote:
Is there for power home to know if the event was triggered at the switch versus from the computer? |
|
|
Sure. You can check the TEMP variables in the trigger. One of them is who initiated the change. I don't have them handy right now, but will check back in shortly. Also, I think this was in a recent post here somewhere...
|
Back to Top |
|
|
tbeckman Senior Member
Joined: December 30 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 149
|
Posted: February 18 2008 at 20:55 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Great... thank you... when you know what variable that is can you roughly sketch out the code I would use:) Thank you.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: February 18 2008 at 22:15 | IP Logged
|
|
|
From this thread but tweaked...
Create an Insteon Device Change trigger to call your macro ... with [Any] for all three parameters and add this formula to the Boolean field of the trigger:
if( [TEMP4]>3, 1, 0)
This should fire on all Insteon device changes but only call the macro when the command does not come from the PLC.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
tbeckman Senior Member
Joined: December 30 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 149
|
Posted: February 18 2008 at 22:57 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Wow... you are incredible good... I can only dream of someday being this smart.. thank you for your help.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
tbeckman Senior Member
Joined: December 30 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 149
|
Posted: February 18 2008 at 22:58 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Is there a place where there is a list of all the temp variables and their values?
Edited by tbeckman - February 18 2008 at 22:59
|
Back to Top |
|
|
BeachBum Super User
Joined: April 11 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 1880
|
Posted: February 18 2008 at 23:03 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I like this one in the interest of documentation.
__________________ Pete - X10 Oldie
|
Back to Top |
|
|
ginigma Senior Member
Joined: June 18 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 127
|
Posted: February 20 2008 at 20:33 | IP Logged
|
|
|
From an old post of Dave's:
Not sure if Ive documented it elsewhere, but the new Insteon Device Chg trigger includes addtional supporting info in the TEMP variables that may assist you in your efforts (most triggers include addl info in the TEMP vars).
Below is the data that is contained in the TEMP vars for the Insteon Device Chg trigger:
Code:
TEMP1 ID of Trigger
TEMP2 0
TEMP3 Insteon CMD 2
TEMP4 Type of trigger
1 = Direct Command from PH PLC
2 = Group Cleanup from PH PLC
3 = Group Broadcast from PH PLC
4 = Direct Command from device
5 = Group Broadcast from device
6 = Group Cleanup from device
TEMP5 The address of the sending device
TEMP6 20 = Direct type command
21 = Broadcast type command
TEMP7 The address of the receiving device
TEMP8 The Group number for group type commands, 1 otherwise
TEMP9 Insteon CMD 1
TEMP10 ID of Receiving device
|
|
|
__________________ Insteon (40 devices) ^ PowerHome (435 links) ^ Logitech Harmony 880
|
Back to Top |
|
|
BeachBum Super User
Joined: April 11 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 1880
|
Posted: February 20 2008 at 21:39 | IP Logged
|
|
|
OK.. This is a start. There are many more.
__________________ Pete - X10 Oldie
|
Back to Top |
|
|
tbeckman Senior Member
Joined: December 30 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 149
|
Posted: February 22 2008 at 12:40 | IP Logged
|
|
|
OK... I think I got the answer to my first question resolved by using looking at the TEMP4 variable to decide if the trigger was from the device... thank you very much.
However, my second question below is still out there... anyone have any thoughts that may help on this? Thanks.
My triggers happen if someone turns ON a light switch but not if they fast on or dim on? Is there a way to control these triggers without having to creat a three triggers for each light in the house? I tried the any trigger, but that with my first question problem led to lights turning on and off all the time by themselves.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
tbeckman Senior Member
Joined: December 30 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 149
|
Posted: February 22 2008 at 17:20 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Another questions relating to the same topic: As I said above... I run macro timers that wait a specific amount of time when they are triggered to send a turn off light command (insteon). I notice from time to time that if I turn a light on... then turn it off... only to return to the room again prior to the timer finishing it's WAIT macro... the light may turn off within a few minutes instead of starting the macro timer all over. Is there a way to tell the macro to stop waiting when a light has been triggered off? Thank you.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
BeachBum Super User
Joined: April 11 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 1880
|
Posted: February 22 2008 at 17:26 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I use this to kill a WAIT ph_killallmacrowait ( )
__________________ Pete - X10 Oldie
|
Back to Top |
|
|
tbeckman Senior Member
Joined: December 30 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 149
|
Posted: February 22 2008 at 18:14 | IP Logged
|
|
|
BeachBum wrote:
I use this to kill a WAIT ph_killallmacrowait ( ) |
|
|
Thanks for pointing me in the right direction... I think I will use the ph_killmacrowait instead so I can just control one timer. To make sure I have this straight in my head... I have over thirty WAIT MACROS (TIMERS)... I would need to create another thirty triggers to use the ph_killmacrowait for each timer? Or is there a faster way to do this? Thank you.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
BeachBum Super User
Joined: April 11 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 1880
|
Posted: February 22 2008 at 18:31 | IP Logged
|
|
|
There’s got to be a better way. I’ll sleep on that one…
__________________ Pete - X10 Oldie
|
Back to Top |
|
|
BeachBum Super User
Joined: April 11 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 1880
|
Posted: February 23 2008 at 09:17 | IP Logged
|
|
|
You could possibly create a Timed Event that turns off the light after the Trigger is fired. That way the macro is not waiting. If the trigger is fired again, cancel the Timed Event and create a new Timed Event.
__________________ Pete - X10 Oldie
|
Back to Top |
|
|
BeachBum Super User
Joined: April 11 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 1880
|
Posted: February 23 2008 at 14:22 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Wrong thread...
Edited by BeachBum - February 23 2008 at 14:29
__________________ Pete - X10 Oldie
|
Back to Top |
|
|