Author |
|
Gadgets Senior Member
Joined: January 28 2008 Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline Posts: 178
|
Posted: January 29 2008 at 16:00 | IP Logged
|
|
|
As promised.. I'm back!
I have spent most of the afternoon here reading the manuals, and zillions of posts here. But I still can't find an example of what I need. I've been messing with the email control. I seem to have the email being checked and everything but nothing happens when I send emails. I've tried using sendkeys, & formula.
I've tried:
(using Sendkeys as the subject)
{x10,"LAMPC2",xon,""}
{x10+C+6+0}{x10+C+102+0} <- problem here is I found this one in the forums and just changed the C+6 to C+3 for my unit, but I have no idea what the second commands ar for in the second set of brackets
{x10+C+2+0}
(and using formula subject)
ph_devicebtn(x10,"LAMPC2",xon,"")
The event log shows "Macro PROCESS EMAIL executed" but the light never turns ON.
The main part of the problem here is, I can't find any examples of formulas or commands or anything. Lots of descriptions of this and that but rarely an example of the code to go with the explanation.
So, could some one PLEASE.. help me out here, or if there is a place for examples point me to them? I loaded the sample DB and will make use of that info too, but for formula or email commands etc.. I found nothing.
. and as a side note, I am VERY impressed with the postings here.. I have yet to see one attack on someone for asking something.. very well done guys!
Brian
__________________ Friends, don't let friends install Norton Products
|
Back to Top |
|
|
onhiatus Senior Member
Joined: May 12 2004 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 279
|
Posted: January 29 2008 at 17:59 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I do not use the built in PH facilities to proccess emails - I don't trust myself to get the formulas right from a cellphone, much less my wife!
I use a "bridge" application that dumps my emails to a text file, then use a PH macro to parse that file and send a reply / status email. This works great and the commands are of the form: "Heat on" or "Overhead Off", etc
See the post Tool to interface with POP3 accounts for more details.
This board is excellent for answers - I'm sure someone is using the built in email processing and will be able to answer your direct question.
Also, you might want to check out Dave's MAPI plugin (http://www.myx10.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=155) that should also allow you to parse emails directly - if you can use MAPI to retrieve them...
Have fun, Tony (On Hiatus)
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: January 29 2008 at 19:25 | IP Logged
|
|
|
The Users Manual has a good paragraph on email control (p67).
You do have email control enabled, correct? Setup, Email, Enable Control via Email
You also may need to end your message with "{}".
I just tested this and it worked...
Subj: formula
ph_tts("e-mail received"){}
Start here and work your way up.
Try:
Subj: formula
ph_devicecontrol("X10+LAMPC2+ON"){}
Assuming the Device ID is "LAMPC2".
Edited by TonyNo - January 29 2008 at 19:32
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: January 29 2008 at 22:59 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Brian,
Also, the X10 "control" commands embedded in a SendKeys string was deprecated several versions ago. What does work though is the "Formula" method as Tony outlined above.
As long as you've enabled Email Control in the Setup section (and restarted or reinitialized after making the change), the code Tony has posted should work.
HTH,
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
Gadgets Senior Member
Joined: January 28 2008 Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline Posts: 178
|
Posted: January 29 2008 at 23:03 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Thanks for the replies guys,
Ok, first I have looked at the post about POP email, then I thought, why do it that way when PH has it built in. However, I never thought of your view... easy of sending from a cellphone etc. It is something I will consider if I can't make the built-in app work.
I'll also read through that other post you mention.. hell I need all thehelp I can get! :-)
__________________ Friends, don't let friends install Norton Products
|
Back to Top |
|
|
Gadgets Senior Member
Joined: January 28 2008 Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline Posts: 178
|
Posted: January 29 2008 at 23:11 | IP Logged
|
|
|
TonyNo wrote:
The Users Manual has a good paragraph on email control (p67). |
|
|
yeah, I read that part already, and I think I have things set right as far as settings go, it's the commands and formula's where I get lost.
TonyNo wrote:
You do have email control enabled, correct? Setup, Email, Enable Control via Email |
|
|
I do indeed.. not even sure how many times I've checked that now!
TonyNo wrote:
You also may need to end your message with "{}".
|
|
|
DOPE! oh man I read that so many times, then promptly didn't put it in!
TonyNo wrote:
Start here and work your way up.
Try:
Subj: formula
ph_devicecontrol("X10+LAMPC2+ON"){}
Assuming the Device ID is "LAMPC2". |
|
|
ooooK hold the phone here! I just tried it again by copying and pasting your command... still nothing. BUT... maybe LAMPC2 is the problem? C2 is the device housecode and unit code, but not the id name the actual ID listed in the X-10 Devices, is 130. So should I be using "130C2" or something instead of "LAMPC2"?? My head hurts. :-)
Thanks Brian
__________________ Friends, don't let friends install Norton Products
|
Back to Top |
|
|
Gadgets Senior Member
Joined: January 28 2008 Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline Posts: 178
|
Posted: January 29 2008 at 23:19 | IP Logged
|
|
|
one quick question to save me from running into the other room. Will the event log show me the commands sent if this email stuff works? I can't receive x-10 commands in my office because there are 6 PC's running in here along with a variety of other electronic "things" that create too much noise on the line. So I have to keep going into another room to see if the light turns on or not.
Don't worry the controller etc are well outside this room and work just fine. :-)
__________________ Friends, don't let friends install Norton Products
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: January 30 2008 at 07:35 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Quote:
C2 is the device housecode and unit code, but not the id name the actual ID listed in the X-10 Devices, is 130. |
|
|
If the Device ID is "130" then it would be...
Code:
ph_devicecontrol("X10+130+ON"){} |
|
|
Just make sure that you actually typed in "130" for the Device ID in the setup of your devices.
Regarding the log, you will see the email being processed and you should also see the X10 transmission.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
onhiatus Senior Member
Joined: May 12 2004 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 279
|
Posted: January 30 2008 at 11:53 | IP Logged
|
|
|
You should also be able to see the current state of your x10 devices via the 'Device Status' view - it will clearly show you what Powerhome thinks your device's status is...
|
Back to Top |
|
|
Gadgets Senior Member
Joined: January 28 2008 Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline Posts: 178
|
Posted: January 30 2008 at 14:44 | IP Logged
|
|
|
TonyNo wrote:
Code:
ph_devicecontrol("X10+130+ON"){} |
|
|
Just make sure that you actually typed in "130" for the Device ID in the setup of your devices. |
|
|
Ok, because of all my chopping and changing, I have started completely over. A new DB and re-entered all my devices etc. using decent ID's now I know (or think I know) how they are used etc. The email functions still do not work. The thing that makes me wonder is when the email is checked with the plugin, or if I manually run it, a window flashes so fast it looks like a flicker. I would think like normal email it would take a couple seconds anyway. Outlook Express is the only email program on the computer running PH and it is set to be the default. When I make Outlook check the email the message I have sent does come through, so the account is working (I have a dedicated account just for PH). Is there something I have missed in the setup?
Summary:
- enabled Control via Email
- do not have restrictions on right now
- re-initialized PH & restarted too
- installed the Plugin and configured accordingly
- created a Macro with the "Process Email" as the
command selection
- tried all suggested formulas (plus some)with zero
results
- banged head on desk countless times!
Is there anything that is needed to be done in Outlook Express? Does OE need to be running (I've tried it both ways, but my understanding is no it doesn't). Truthfully I don't feel the email is actually be checked by PH, I'm not sure what it's doing when it does it there are no errors that show anywhere, so I'm at a loss.
Quote:
Regarding the log, you will see the email being processed and you should also see the X10 transmission. |
|
|
Ok kind of thought so, but I'm not. All I see is "Macro PROCESS EMAIL executed." no transmissions. Is there anything I can post here that would help??
Thanks Brian
__________________ Friends, don't let friends install Norton Products
|
Back to Top |
|
|
Gadgets Senior Member
Joined: January 28 2008 Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline Posts: 178
|
Posted: January 30 2008 at 14:45 | IP Logged
|
|
|
onhiatus wrote:
You should also be able to see the current state of your x10 devices via the 'Device Status' view - it will clearly show you what Powerhome thinks your device's status is... |
|
|
Yeah I started using that last night... although I like to see the physical light turn on, I'd be happy with the status change for now.
__________________ Friends, don't let friends install Norton Products
|
Back to Top |
|
|
Gadgets Senior Member
Joined: January 28 2008 Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline Posts: 178
|
Posted: January 30 2008 at 16:05 | IP Logged
|
|
|
SUCCESS!!
Found the apparent problem with the email formulas. I realized I use using IMAP to receive my messages, wasn't sure if that mattered but changed it to POP.. and now the formulas via email are working perfectly using the PH plugin! SWEET! Finally some success here...
Thanks so much for all your help on this one.. now on to the next!
__________________ Friends, don't let friends install Norton Products
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: January 30 2008 at 20:56 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Good to hear!
We'll be here for next time.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
Gadgets Senior Member
Joined: January 28 2008 Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline Posts: 178
|
Posted: January 31 2008 at 10:25 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Alright, so maybe I was a little premature on my excitement. I tested the email again later from my cell, it didn't work, but I am presuming that is because I can't put a subject in the text message. No big. However, after that PH wouldn't respond to the email commands again. It checks the email, and downloads it (now I'm using POP I can actually see it take place) but then does nothing with the email. I tried re-starting PH etc. with no change. I then had to leave it for the night.
Now this morning it was working, but after three email tests in a row, it has again stopped processing the email commands. Is the a time limit in here somewhere to prevent swamping or something? I've been sending about once a minute maybe longer. Or, is it sort of a hit and miss?
__________________ Friends, don't let friends install Norton Products
|
Back to Top |
|
|
onhiatus Senior Member
Joined: May 12 2004 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 279
|
Posted: January 31 2008 at 13:27 | IP Logged
|
|
|
A note on sending email from your phone. It is possible to have a subject when sending via sms. I believe it is different for each carier, but for tmobile the sms has to look something like: "a@b.com /subject/ body" sent to 500
Congrats on the partial success. I don't know you cold your house gets, but we live on a floating home with minimum insultation in Seattle and we both have extremely variable work schedules. Just adding the ability for the wife to turn on the heat as she leaves work has finially gotten my some spousal credit with the home automation thing. Now if I could only come up with a way to turn up the temperatures outside the house...
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: January 31 2008 at 13:48 | IP Logged
|
|
|
You need the proper subject, and email control should not be hit or miss. Also, don't forget about ending the message with "{}" just to be safe.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
Gadgets Senior Member
Joined: January 28 2008 Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline Posts: 178
|
Posted: January 31 2008 at 15:06 | IP Logged
|
|
|
onhiatus wrote:
A note on sending email from your phone. It is possible to have a subject when sending via sms. I believe it is different for each carier, but for tmobile the sms has to look something like: "a@b.com /subject/ body" sent to 500 |
|
|
I'll have to try that, I had my son actually test it, he can text with his eyes closed.. me it takes 20 minutes to send "hello". :-) I'll look into the subject thing on our carrier (Rogers & Sympatico)
Quote:
Just adding the ability for the wife to turn on the heat as she leaves work has finially gotten my some spousal credit with the home automation thing. Now if I could only come up with a way to turn up the temperatures outside the house... |
|
|
Right now I could use the turning of the heat up outside... it's friggin' freezing! I used to have a x10 Telephone transponder hooked up. We had two phones lines at the time. If I tried calling the house and kept getting a busy signal I would call the other line, and activate the module that killed the phones, then turn it back on.. hang up and call back on the main line... that is one quick way to LOSE a bunch of spousal points let me tell ya! Worked great to force a hang up to some one yakking to long.
__________________ Friends, don't let friends install Norton Products
|
Back to Top |
|
|
Gadgets Senior Member
Joined: January 28 2008 Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline Posts: 178
|
Posted: January 31 2008 at 15:11 | IP Logged
|
|
|
TonyNo wrote:
You need the proper subject, and email control should not be hit or miss. Also, don't forget about ending the message with "{}" just to be safe. |
|
|
That's the thing, I've been doing exactly the same thing each time, even pasting the same formula into each email, only changing the ON to OFF, and keep using "formula" (without the quotes) for the subject. I just don't get it. I'll try again when I get home later.
__________________ Friends, don't let friends install Norton Products
|
Back to Top |
|
|
Gadgets Senior Member
Joined: January 28 2008 Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline Posts: 178
|
Posted: January 31 2008 at 22:05 | IP Logged
|
|
|
TonyNo wrote:
You need the proper subject, and email control should not be hit or miss. Also, don't forget about ending the message with "{}" just to be safe. |
|
|
Alright... it's for sure "missing" now. I just tried again and nothing. I attached a partial screen capture of the received email as seen in Outlook when I open it.
Is there a problem? This is EXACTLY the same thing I have tested with each time, only maybe substituding OFF in place of ON.
__________________ Friends, don't let friends install Norton Products
|
Back to Top |
|
|