Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome Programming
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome Programming
Subject Topic: n00b help requested Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
jpcurcio
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: April 01 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 119
Posted: April 02 2007 at 11:47 | IP Logged Quote jpcurcio

Hi all...

New Insteon user here (with past experience with X10). My system currently consists of a KPL, one CL, about 8 SL dimmers, a couple SL relays (for fluorescents), and a PLC. I downloaded PowerHome on Friday and spent the weekend playing around... I've gotten to the point where I understand the basics.

One of my first successes was linking the bathroom vanity light (switch not near the door) to the fluorescent switch (by the door). Rather than just hard-link these two at the switch level, I created the PLC group to do this. My next step is to determine the time of day so I can control the brightness level of this light.

For my question, I'll define the following:

SL1: SwitchLinc relay at bathroom door, wired to fluorescent

SL2: SwitchLinc dimmer across the room, wired to incandescent vanity lights.

What I want to do:

From 10:00pm to 6:00am, a keypress on SL1 should:

1. Turn on lights hooked to SL2 at reduced brightness
2. If possible, not turn on fluorescent light hooked to SL1.

All other times, a keypress on SL1 should

1. Turn on lights hooked to SL2 at full brightness
2. Turn on fluorescent light hooked to SL1

Questions:

1. Is this possible (especially not turning on the fluorescent light at night)?
2. What is the best approach here? My challenge (that I can't figure out on my own) is how to get the time into the equation; do I use a global variable in conjunction with a macro? Do I use a script?

Thanks all for any help you can give...

-JPC
Back to Top View jpcurcio's Profile Search for other posts by jpcurcio
 
cmhardwick
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: July 08 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 290
Posted: April 02 2007 at 13:41 | IP Logged Quote cmhardwick

There is a specific function to get the time. I'm at work, so can't look at it exactly. Click on HELP at the top and you can see all the various functions availalbe.
I use this in a couple of macros I have. As to not turning on the load on SL1, the only way would be to have NO load there adn use an inline linc to control the actual light. The local load will always turn on when you press the "on" side of the switch. You could have your macro turn it right back off, but that will add lots of wear and tear on the bulb.

Edited by cmhardwick - April 02 2007 at 13:42


__________________
Cicero, Enjoying automation!
Back to Top View cmhardwick's Profile Search for other posts by cmhardwick Visit cmhardwick's Homepage
 
jpcurcio
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: April 01 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 119
Posted: April 02 2007 at 15:21 | IP Logged Quote jpcurcio

cmhardwick wrote:
There is a specific function to get the time. I'm at work, so can't look at it exactly. Click on HELP at the top and you can see all the various functions availalbe.
I use this in a couple of macros I have. As to not turning on the load on SL1, the only way would be to have NO load there adn use an inline linc to control the actual light. The local load will always turn on when you press the "on" side of the switch. You could have your macro turn it right back off, but that will add lots of wear and tear on the bulb.


Thanks for the reply...

I thought about not connecting the load on this switch in order to make sure that the fluorescent doesn't come on, but I really don't want to do that because it does shed light in the shower, which the vanity lights don't do too well. I'll think about using an inline linc... since the fluorescent is a recessed fixture, it may be simple to do.

As for the macro, I know that I have to fool around with it a bit to become comfortable with it, but I really have little idea where to start. Any sample code (or an outline of what to do) would be greatly appreciated!

-JPC
Back to Top View jpcurcio's Profile Search for other posts by jpcurcio
 
wasdvd
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: February 13 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 42
Posted: April 02 2007 at 16:56 | IP Logged Quote wasdvd

hour( now() ) > 16 or hour( now() ) < 8

will return a TRUE or FALSE depending on the actual time of day at the moment. The 8 and 16 are times of day in 24 hour format.

The instruction as listed will be TRUE after 16:00 up untill 8:00 the next day.

Edited by wasdvd - April 02 2007 at 16:57
Back to Top View wasdvd's Profile Search for other posts by wasdvd
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum