Author |
|
tbeckman Senior Member
Joined: December 30 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 149
|
Posted: September 21 2008 at 09:32 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I have been trying to figure out how to turn off my lights in the house 1 minute after power home sees the ELK has been armed. I can't seem to make a trigger that sees this action. I have an analog I/0 configured and it does seem to capture when the system is armed, however, when I chose analog in within a trigger setup nothing shows up in the trigger ID field. Am I thinking about this correctly? Thanks.
Edited by tbeckman - September 21 2008 at 09:32
|
Back to Top |
|
|
tbeckman Senior Member
Joined: December 30 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 149
|
Posted: September 22 2008 at 20:06 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Ok... 26 views and no one has an answer(any elk users?)... let me see if I can make the question more simplistic... can PH see the status change of whether the ELK is armed or disarmed? If so, how can I set PH up to capture or check this? Thanks.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
jaysonc Newbie
Joined: October 21 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 26
|
Posted: September 22 2008 at 23:43 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Do a search for "ELK Status and State Macros" topic subject in the
"PowerHome Macros, Scripts, and Formulas Repository" forum.
I previously posted the macros I used to accurately detect the Elk
arm/disarm status. They can be tricky. The timings were not what I
expected.
Anyway, the message contains the macros I use to monitor my Elk status
and state in PowerHome. It should be easy enough to add a 1 minute pause
to them in the right place.
__________________ --
Jayson
|
Back to Top |
|
|
tbeckman Senior Member
Joined: December 30 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 149
|
Posted: September 23 2008 at 01:22 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Jayson, thank you so much for responding to my questions. What I don't understand is this: I am using the BETA release where I can tell PH via an analog I/O to pick up the state or status of the alarm... and it works. However, I don't understand how to make a trigger based upon that status already being captured. Your method, although smart, seems to have been a work around before the alpha/beta came out? But I haven't wrapped by pea brian around it yet either. It just seems that since PH is already capturing it and I can see it in my device list then I should be able to call that just like any other device I have. Just can't seem to see what I am missing. Thanks Jayson.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: September 24 2008 at 19:57 | IP Logged
|
|
|
tbeckman,
I went through the code because I was sure this capability was in there and apparently this is one of those things that I forgot. There are indeed two new Analog types that enhance support of the Elk (Arm Status and Alarm State) but I did not create the appropriate triggers to along with them. I am working on a quick bugfix version for the bugs reported thus far and will include support for these triggers as well.
In the meantime though, PH does fire a Generic Controller trigger. To make use of this, choose a trigger type of "Generic Controller". Set the Trigger ID to the ID of your Elk. Set the Trigger ID Number to "Command 5" and the Trigger Value to "Option 1". After doing this, the trigger will fire anytime the Arm Status or the Alarm State changes. When this trigger fires, the [TEMP5] variable will contain the Arming Status for the 8 zones. The [TEMP10] variable will contain the Arm Up State and the Alarm State of the 8 zones. The [TEMP10] variable will look like this:
1111111100000000
The first 8 1's are the Arm Up State for zones 1 thru 8. The following 8 0's are the Alarm State for zones 1 thru 8. The 1's all mean "Ready to Arm". The 0's all mean "No Alarm". If you set the Elk to arm zone 1 with an exit delay, then [TEMP10] will look like this:
3111111100000000
with the 3 meaning that zone 1 is "Armed with Exit Timer working". Consequently, if you this arming was done as "Arm Away", then [TEMP5] will look like this:
10000000
indicating that zone 1 is set for "Armed Away" and that zones 2 thru 8 are "Disarmed". The tables below show the valid values:
[TEMP5] (Arming Status)
0 - Disarmed
1 - Armed Away
2 - Armed Stay
3 - Armed Stay Instant
4 - Armed to Night
5 - Armed to Night Instant
6 - Armed to Vacation
[TEMP10] (Arm Up State)
0 - Not Ready to Arm
1 - Ready to Arm
2 - Ready to Arm but a zone is violated and can be force armed
3 - Armed with Exit Timer working
4 - Armed Fully
5 - Force Armed with force arm zone violated
6 - Armed with a Bypass
[TEMP10] (Alarm State)
0 - No Alarm Active
1 - Entrance Delay is Active
2 - Alarm Abort Delay is Active
3 - Fire Alarm
4 - Medical Alarm
5 - Police Alarm
6 - Burglar Alarm
7 - Aux1Alarm
8 - Aux2Alarm
9 - Aux3Alarm
: - Aux4Alarm
; - Carbon Monoxide Alarm
< - Emergency Alarm
= - Freeze Alarm
> - Gas Alarm
? - Heat Alarm
@ - Water Alarm
A - Supervisory Alarm
B - Verify Fire
To make a simple trigger that fires when zone 1 of the Elk is armed, just add this to the Boolean field of the above described trigger:
left("[TEMP5]",1) <> "0"
Hope this helps,
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
tbeckman Senior Member
Joined: December 30 2007 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 149
|
Posted: September 25 2008 at 01:45 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Wow Dave, you always amaze me. I think your explaination will keep my head spinning for a while. I used the boolean you gave me on my trigger and it worked perfectly. THANK YOU.
Ok, based on your explaination... let me try one... I want to now turn on all lights in the house when the burgler alarms goes off. I think I would do something like left("[TEMP10]",9) <> "6" - if that is right, then I would like to add one more to the boolean... how do I get it to only trigger the lights on while it is dark outside. Thank you in advance for that help.
Edited by tbeckman - September 29 2008 at 15:03
|
Back to Top |
|
|