Author |
|
Tomcat7194 Newbie
Joined: November 05 2006
Online Status: Offline Posts: 24
|
Posted: November 09 2006 at 19:56 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Hi everyone. At the moment, I have a timer that turns on a universal module connected to my furnace 1 hour before I get home each day, so that the heaters have warmed up when I arrive.
Usually I just turn the timer on on cold days, but it would be nice to have it automatic. I already have a weather macro running, so I have the current temperature stored in a global variable called CURTEMP.
What I want is a macro (which I can connect to a timer) that checks the current temperature, and then if it is less than 50 degrees, turns the furnace on (x10 code B1). How would I go about writing the If statement to make this happen?
Thanks
Tom
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: November 09 2006 at 22:13 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I would have to say that X-10 is not reliable enough to control things that can hurt you.
A way to make this safer, though, would be to use two modules in series so that both would need to be activated in order to turn on the device (one random On would basically be ignored).
You would need to determine when the temp should be checked, then you could do this...
if( {CURTEMP}<=50, ph_x10btn ( "B1", 2, 0 ) + ph_x10btn ( "B2", 2, 0 ) , 0)
|
Back to Top |
|
|
krommetje Super User
Joined: December 29 2004 Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline Posts: 695
|
Posted: November 11 2006 at 00:23 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I have been working extensivly on temperatures in Powerhome and at first wanted to do the same thing: Control my Central Heating with Powerhome but have found that X10 is not reliable enough even though I think Powerhome is capable enough. (Maybe a K8000 will do the job)
What I have done is that I have been looking for a thermostat that has the possibilty to be influenced by a second switch and found one. The Thermostat has the last call when it comes to the Central Heating and Powerhome can temporarly override the thermostat. This override is purely a temporary state and enables me to put the thermostat to rest if we are not at home but still:
the thermostat has the last call and if the inside temp gets below 15degr celcius then the override is cancelled.
It's not that Powerhome isn't capable enough.... it is X10 that is not reliable enough for this to be managed.
You could read this thread: (all 6 pages of 'em )
http://www.power-home.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=406&KW=t emperature
I also created a Virtual X10 module which is maintained by a timed event which calculates the difference between the last temperature measured and the current temperature. If the temperature is going up then the difference is positive and if the temperature is going down then the difference is negative and with this you can switch a Virt.X10 on/off.
Peter
Edited by krommetje - November 11 2006 at 00:27
|
Back to Top |
|
|