Author |
|
seattlechris Groupie
Joined: June 29 2002 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 49
|
Posted: September 29 2004 at 14:25 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Has anyone had luck using the serial port functions to receive serial port data? I've hooked up an rs-232 diagnostic tool and a loop-back plug, and it appears that the port open, close, dtr control, rts control, and send string all work fine. However, even though I see data (via the diagnostic plug) coming back into the port, the receive functions don't see it-- the receive macro is never put in the execution queue and the buffer pointer stays at zero. I've tested the same port with a separate utility to confirm that the pc port itself works. Thoughts?
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: September 29 2004 at 16:28 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Chris,
Checked out the code as soon as I saw this and discovered the problem (my bad ). I guess thats why it's a beta (actually, I think these functions were in the last release).
The code for receiving data from the COM port and loading the buffers was placed in the double-clicked event instead of the ONCOMM event. Ive fixed it and it will be ready in the next beta (hopefully just a few days since Im not changing the database structure).
Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
seattlechris Groupie
Joined: June 29 2002 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 49
|
Posted: September 29 2004 at 20:45 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Thanks for chasing that down-- your support is awesome.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
seattlechris Groupie
Joined: June 29 2002 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 49
|
Posted: November 07 2004 at 13:36 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I made it a little farther with the beta version 1.03.4.2. I get an error when I receive data from a modem with input mode of text, but works fine if I switch to input mode of binary then receive byte by byte, convert to character, and build up the incoming strings. However, when I send stuff to the modem, it gets echoed back on the com port without the modem acting as if it received it.
Anyone else try this yet?
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: November 21 2004 at 21:24 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Chris,
I found another problem. I should have it fixed this time for sure. I tested by connecting and controlling my PowerLinc serial controller. Ive also enhanced the sendstring and recvstring functions so that they will handle binary characters as well. Another release with these fixes will be out shortly.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
onhiatus Senior Member
Joined: May 12 2004 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 279
|
Posted: November 23 2004 at 12:47 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Dave - any idea what "soon" means (+/- a week or two )? I'm waiting on this as well. If it's going to be a while I'll implement an external utility, but if it's going to be soon(-ish) I'll save the effort.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: November 26 2004 at 11:29 | IP Logged
|
|
|
"Soon" should be within a week. Im trying to finish up the code on the PowerLinc USB so it can go out in the next beta as well
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
onhiatus Senior Member
Joined: May 12 2004 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 279
|
Posted: December 08 2004 at 12:14 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Did this get fixed in the latest beta (Version 1.03.4.3)?
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: December 08 2004 at 12:22 | IP Logged
|
|
|
It should have. I tested out the functions by communicating directly with a PowerLinc RS-232 and was able to both send and receive. Check out the sendstring and recvstring functions in the help file however as I enhanced their functionality so that they can work with binary characters as well.
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
seattlechris Groupie
Joined: June 29 2002 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 49
|
Posted: December 12 2004 at 19:03 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Thanks Dave. With this beta version 1.03.4.3 I was able to extract caller ID information from my modem using the COM functions.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
LalShad Newbie
Joined: December 13 2004 Location: Pakistan
Online Status: Offline Posts: 1
|
Posted: December 13 2004 at 01:54 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I have the same problem. I want to get the data from the digital scale. i wrote the program in the Basic(DOS) and works perfectly. Now i want to convert the program to GUI. in this regard i choose the Vb and use its activeX Mscomm but i can't resoponce. help me how can i be able to get the data from the digital scale using RS232 communication. I using the three wire TX, Rx and Ground. it works in basic(DOS)
__________________ Zalmey
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: December 13 2004 at 12:10 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Chris,
Excellent. You're more than welcome to post what you've done if you're interested. Since I don't have caller ID, it's difficult for me to help others.
LalShad,
If you could post a copy of what you've done in DOS Basic, Im sure myself or one of the other power users here could help you out.
Let me know,
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|