Author |
|
cmusnyder Newbie
Joined: October 23 2011 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 8
|
Posted: October 27 2011 at 17:44 | IP Logged
|
|
|
cmusnyder wrote:
I have an old school original Droid,
so I'll try it out on
there. Was thinking of developing a web app that'd work
similarly to how your mobile app will, sort of like the
bank of america mobile banking web app, so that you can
just navigate to a web page that hosts your powerhome web
interface, and it'll recognize you're on a mobile device
and act like a mobile app. |
|
|
Hey so I'm back after a bit messing w/ the app. I
downloaded the example xml config file and that seems to
load up fine. If I make any changes to the file, though,
and copy the new version over to my droid, it doesn't
seem to propagate the changes i've made. what am i doing
wrong? hope i'm not coming off like a jerk. just know
it's likely user error. do you want me to send you my
edited xml file?
|
Back to Top |
|
|
MrGibbage Super User
Joined: October 23 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 513
|
Posted: October 27 2011 at 20:31 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Did you try hitting Menu->Refresh Menu? That reloads the menu structure.
By the way, Dave, is it OK for us to use this forum for discussion of other apps that integrate
with PH? Or should I move discussions like this to a different site?
__________________ Skip
|
Back to Top |
|
|
MrGibbage Super User
Joined: October 23 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 513
|
Posted: October 27 2011 at 21:04 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Dave, one more question for you. Can you give me some formulas that will work for all users?
You have seen my configuration file for my app. I would like to have some sample formulas or
other things in my sample configuration file that will return some useful/interesting data
from the ph webserver so people will know it is working. For instance, it could return the
server time, or sunrise/sunset, and I know how to do those. Do you have any other ideas? Are
there any global variables that are consistent for everyone? Or triggers?
__________________ Skip
|
Back to Top |
|
|
cmusnyder Newbie
Joined: October 23 2011 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 8
|
Posted: October 28 2011 at 00:16 | IP Logged
|
|
|
MrGibbage wrote:
Did you try hitting Menu->Refresh Menu?
That reloads the menu structure.
By the way, Dave, is it OK for us to use this forum for
discussion of other apps that integrate
with PH? Or should I move discussions like this to a
different site? |
|
|
I did try refreshing, yes. Hasn't worked at all yet.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
MrGibbage Super User
Joined: October 23 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 513
|
Posted: October 28 2011 at 06:14 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Just to be completely sure, I am talking about Menu button->refresh, which is different than the refresh link you see
on the main screen. By the way, in my latest version, I have renamed the menu->refresh to
menu->"reload menu structure" because it was even confusing me.
If you have tried menu->refresh and it still isn't working, then can you please PM me your xml configuration file?
You can take out your server information and username/password.
Edited by MrGibbage - October 28 2011 at 06:15
__________________ Skip
|
Back to Top |
|
|
dhoward Admin Group
Joined: June 29 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 4447
|
Posted: October 29 2011 at 13:04 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Skip,
No problem at all discussing third party apps here .
Definitely keep it here if you like because then it'll be
a one stop shop for all things PH.
Concerning generic functions...I cant think of many
others than the ones you've specified but a couple of
things come to mind:
ph_powerhomeuptime_s()
ph_windowsuptime_s()
ph_getphdir()
ph_filelist(ph_getphdir() + "\*.*",0,0,1,3)
ph_listprocesses(1)
You could also query database info using the ph_sql and
ph_sql_s functions like:
ph_sql(0,"select id from insteondevices")
ph_sql(0,"select table_name from systable")
Hope this helps,
Dave.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
MrGibbage Super User
Joined: October 23 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 513
|
Posted: November 02 2011 at 20:53 | IP Logged
|
|
|
I have an update to the PowerHome Connector for Android app ready for download and testing. There are changes to the layout of the xml
configuration file and I do not have an easy upgrade method. The changes though, are small and your existing file will work, but you won't be able
to take advantage of some of the new features.
New features include the capability to use the PowerHome socket Server and the capability to use either PowerHome web server authentication method,
basic and cookie. I also have a lot of bug fixes in there.
Download Phca here: http://skipstechtalk.net/powerhome-connector-for-android/
Setup instructions here: http://skipstechtalk.net/powerhome-connector-for-android-set up/
Usage instructions and screenshots here: http://skipstechtalk.net/powerhome-connector-for-android-usa ge-instructions-and-screenshots/
And, as always, I could really, really use some feedback.
Thanks, and I hope that you enjoy it!
Skip
__________________ Skip
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: November 04 2011 at 22:22 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Installing the app warns that it has access to phone calls. What gives?
|
Back to Top |
|
|
MrGibbage Super User
Joined: October 23 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 513
|
Posted: November 05 2011 at 09:23 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Tony, glad you asked. I had a paragraph on my setup instructions page, but I found out it was a little out
of date. I have now updated it:
http://skipstechtalk.net/powerhome-connector-for-android-set up/
The bottom line is the "Phone Calls" permission is required to retrieve the unique phone id (usually IMEI,
but it could be a different number). I need that number so I can keep track of each phone that a user
registers so that I can channel the push data (C2DM) to the user's phone(s). Each user can register as
many phones as they want. If you don't use the push messaging, then I won't use that at all, but of course
I still need to declare the permission for it in the first place.
__________________ Skip
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: November 05 2011 at 11:05 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Thanks for the info.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: November 05 2011 at 11:07 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Ah ha! Installed app, hit refresh, got screen of HTML like before. Likely due to not updating the XML to match my system.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: November 05 2011 at 11:49 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Adjusted the xml file with my credentials and it's crashing. Any logging to figure out what is going on?
|
Back to Top |
|
|
MrGibbage Super User
Joined: October 23 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 513
|
Posted: November 05 2011 at 13:06 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Yes, I do log a lot and you can retrieve it with the logcat app. Perhaps you could
send me a capture so I can see what is going on. And send me your xml file too,
please. You can mangle your server info and passwords.
So you edited the xml and tried uploading it and you got a forced closed? That
certainly should not happen.
Looking forward to getting to the bottom of this.
__________________ Skip
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: November 05 2011 at 19:17 | IP Logged
|
|
|
logcat?
Also, send stuff where?
Edited by TonyNo - November 05 2011 at 19:20
|
Back to Top |
|
|
MrGibbage Super User
Joined: October 23 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 513
|
Posted: November 05 2011 at 19:20 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Yeah, after you have a problem, stop what you are doing and open aLogcat
(https://market.android.com/details?id=org.jtb.alogcat). There's an option to save the logcat, or email
it to someone. My email address is skip@pelorus.org
__________________ Skip
|
Back to Top |
|
|
MrGibbage Super User
Joined: October 23 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 513
|
Posted: November 05 2011 at 19:22 | IP Logged
|
|
|
By the way, when did you get the crash? Were you loading the menu structure, or refreshing the
status text.
Also, as for getting html in the status text, I have seen something like html in there if you have
the wrong authentication method (basic vs. cookie). It sounds like you might have cookie
authentication on the server but you are using basic in the app???
__________________ Skip
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: November 05 2011 at 19:36 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Log sent.
Just launching the app makes it crash immediately.
It is actual HTML. ;)
Same thing happens with basic or cookie.
|
Back to Top |
|
|
MrGibbage Super User
Joined: October 23 2006 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 513
|
Posted: November 06 2011 at 00:42 | IP Logged
|
|
|
OK, I'm a knot-head. When I uploaded the latest version this week, I didn't put it in the
right place on my web server. Therefore, the few of you that have downloaded the "latest"
version this week are still using the old version. So sorry for the hassle but would you
please go back to my site and re-download the latest version. If it works, you should see
version 1.1 in the Menu->About dialog.
__________________ Skip
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: November 06 2011 at 10:11 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Since there are creds for both SS and web, how do we choose which one gets used?
|
Back to Top |
|
|
TonyNo Moderator Group
Joined: December 05 2001 Location: United States
Online Status: Offline Posts: 2889
|
Posted: November 06 2011 at 10:33 | IP Logged
|
|
|
Ah, I get it. ;)
|
Back to Top |
|
|