Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
PowerHome Programming
 PowerHome Messageboard : PowerHome Programming
Subject Topic: temp variable for device ID from trigger Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
cmhardwick
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: July 08 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 290
Posted: February 20 2007 at 16:38 | IP Logged Quote cmhardwick

Is there a TempID used specifically to pass on the device ID from an insteon change trigger? I want to pass this along to a macro whenever a device changes status.
Actually, is there a table for insteon trigger temp variables, like there is for other triggers in the manual?

Thanks!

Edited by cmhardwick - February 20 2007 at 16:41


__________________
Cicero, Enjoying automation!
Back to Top View cmhardwick's Profile Search for other posts by cmhardwick Visit cmhardwick's Homepage
 
smarty
Super User
Super User
Avatar

Joined: May 21 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 728
Posted: February 20 2007 at 17:25 | IP Logged Quote smarty

See Dave's reply to my Insteon Trigger Request....

Steve



Posted: December 18 2006 at 12:28 | IP Logged    

------------------------------------------------------------ --------------------

Steve,

I can look into the additional triggers but I need to be careful not to add too many different checks otherwise speed may become an issue.

Not sure if Ive documented it elsewhere, but the new Insteon Device Chg trigger includes addtional supporting info in the TEMP variables that may assist you in your efforts (most triggers include addl info in the TEMP vars).

Below is the data that is contained in the TEMP vars for the Insteon Device Chg trigger:

Code:

TEMP1     ID of Trigger
TEMP2     0
TEMP3     Insteon CMD 2
TEMP4     Type of trigger
     1 = Direct Command from PH PLC
     2 = Group Cleanup from PH PLC
     3 = Group Broadcast from PH PLC
     4 = Direct Command from device
     5 = Group Broadcast from device
     6 = Group Cleanup from device
TEMP5     The address of the sending device
TEMP6     20 = Direct type command
     21 = Broadcast type command
TEMP7     The address of the receiving device
TEMP8     The Group number for group type commands, 1 otherwise
TEMP9     Insteon CMD 1
TEMP10     ID of Receiving device





You can effectively get your "Level Change" trigger by using the "Insteon Device Chg" trigger with [Any] group and [Any] command and then placing this formula in the "Boolean" field:

case([TEMP9] when 21,22,24 then 1 else 0)

This will only allow the trigger to fire when a dim, bright, or stop manual change command affects the desired device. You could then create multiple "Insteon Device Chg" triggers with appropriate formulas in the "Boolean" field all executing different macros to pick up some granularity.

Dave.


__________________
Elk - Insteon - BlueIris - DMC1 - PowerHome - XLobby - HA_Bridge w/Dots - Brultech
Back to Top View smarty's Profile Search for other posts by smarty
 
cmhardwick
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: July 08 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 290
Posted: February 20 2007 at 18:59 | IP Logged Quote cmhardwick

Thanks!! Now to experiment. I'm trying to end up with ONE trigger and a long macro to handle everything

__________________
Cicero, Enjoying automation!
Back to Top View cmhardwick's Profile Search for other posts by cmhardwick Visit cmhardwick's Homepage
 
cmhardwick
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: July 08 2006
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 290
Posted: February 20 2007 at 19:25 | IP Logged Quote cmhardwick

Drat. That helps as long as the change isn't instigate by PH. Otherwise, the Sending (TEMP5) and receiving (TEMP7) are both the powerlinc. For now I'll jut have to work with individual triggers for each unit.
Hopefully the changes Dave is working on will address this.

Thanks again Smarty!

__________________
Cicero, Enjoying automation!
Back to Top View cmhardwick's Profile Search for other posts by cmhardwick Visit cmhardwick's Homepage
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum